Databases
Access the many databases Waterloo Public Library subscribes to. Please note that some are available only in the WPL building, and others will require your library card number for you to access at home.
| AtoZdatabases* (Must use library card number.) AtoZdatabases is the premier reference and marketing database. This simple, user-friendly, web-based solution provides details on every business and every household within the U.S. |
|
| Ancestry.com Library Edition (In-library use only) |
|
| Auto Repair Reference Center*(In-library use only; use EBSCOHost link in the left column to access this database with your library card) |
|
|
Access information about notable individuals
|
|
|
|
Consumer Reports (+ cars edition)* Access information about product reports including cars, TVs and more (In-library use only; use EBSCOHost link in the left column to access this database from home with your library card) |
| Contemporary Authors* Get information about your favorite authors |
|
|
EBSCOHost* (Use this link forin-library access) a web-based information resource including full-text magazine and newspaper articles, and reference tools Click here to login to EBSCOhost from home. |
|
| EBSCOHost Español* Use this link for in-library access |
|
| Fold3 (Footnote)* (Use this link for in-library access) The place for historical documents online; Click here to login to Fold3 (Footnote) through EBSCOhost from home. |
|
| Gale Virtual Reference Library* Access our eBook collection, including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources |
|
| HealthInfo Iowa* A consumer health information resource from the State Library of Iowa |
|
| Heritage Quest* Find information on people and places described in census records and historical books. |
|
| Historic Map Works Library Edition. (Login to be used at the library) Consists of over 200,000 high-resolution, full color historic property and land ownership maps. |
|
| Historic Map Works* Home Edition. (Login to be used from remote location) Consists of over 200,000 high-resolution, full color historic property and land ownership maps. | |
| LearningExpress Library* LearningExpress Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing and math. |
|
| Mango Languages* (Must have library card number.) Languages available are Chinese, French, German, Italian, Spanish and ESL Spanish. |
|
| Newspaper Archives Library Edition. (In-library use only) |
|
| NoveList Plus* Find a great selection of fiction in any genre. |
|
| Optimal Resume* Quickly and easily create a high quality, professional resume that you can share online or download and print. |
|
| p4A Antiques Reference Library Edition. (Login to be used at the library) The Web's first choice for antiques research. |
|
| p4A Antiques Reference* Home Edition. (Login to be used from remote location) The Web's first choice for antiques research. |
|
|
(Must have library card number.) Learn to speak languages naturally with language and culture lessons. Build on your vocabulary and improve your audio recognition of common words and phrases (and have fun at the same time) with our popular MegaGames range. |
|
|
(In-library use only; use EBSCOHost link in the left column to access this database from home with your library card) Find repair information for ATVs, small generators, marine/boat motors, motorcycles, outdoor power equipment, personal water craft, snowmobiles, and tractors. |
|
| Universal Class (Sign up with your library card number.) This database offers you a unique online education experience. With a growing catalog of over 540 courses, you can learn new skills in many areas including business, accounting, cooking, personal care, GED training, mathematics, language arts, photography, social work, office skills, and so much more. It's just a click away. Grow your mind! |
|
| World Vital Records Search for your ancestors using a variety of genealogical databases. Discover where they lived and the events that shaped their lives. |
Still can't find what you're looking for?
Ask a Librarian for help!
* You will need your library card number to access this outside of the library.
-Please note that WPL will no longer subscribe to Sanborn Maps. However, you can sign up for a state library card here and access Sanborn Maps through the State Library's site here
